QuittingAdderall.com Forums

Do the absolute minimum (or lower if you have to) and go home (Impossible for a teacher?)

Rev&Rush

As I look out on the edge of the beginning (my quit day) that advice above scares me.

I'm a teacher, and the bare minimum is not possible. Going home is not possible. The beginning of my day is 7am and the end of my day is 5 or 6pm most days. That's just "at work time" although nowadays I no longer bring work home, cause I don't do it. I'm too busy trying to muscle down a few beers so I can relax after popping pills all day.

I guess what I'm saying is, how do you avoid doing tasks that are normally asked of you cause you were the efficient one, you were the one who could solve a problem, you were the creative thinker, without sounding like a total dick?

I mean, I know that my health is important, and I have to take care of all my contractual duties, and the children show up everyday, so I can't avoid them, but how do I avoid all the other people... without announcing that I'm quitting Adderall?

does your husband know your predicament?

I mean, it's the type of thing that you have to bite the bullet and jump into. Its going to suck somewhat. Depending on how much you're biting off all at once (how many pills are you going to stop at once), it may suck more or less a lot. It does feel good to live without the meds. We have all been there. Now we're all at various stages of here, on the other side. We waded thru the turbulent waters of hell and while the current and undertow tried to pull us back, we kept struggling on, all the while carrying loads on our back that were our jobs, spouses, kids, day to day life stuff and crap... and it wasn't easy.