QuittingAdderall.com Forums

Law Student Trying to Quit Adderall

ADDLawStudent

I'm trying to quit adderall after using it for nearly three years. I have a little over a month left of this semester and I've decided to give it a go without adderall. The article listing the 7 characteristic traits of adderall users describes me with complete accuracy.

Despite being an average student I have done very well in law school. However, I do not believe I would have done nearly as good without adderall. I hate reading and have trouble sitting still. Adderall makes these problems disappear.

I don't believe I'm actually addicted to adderall because I only need it when I study. My main concern is that I'm not developing the skills and discipline I will need in my profession after I graduate. I do not plan on using adderall once I graduate but I'm scared I won't be able to focus and excel in this profession without it. In other words, I'm using adderall as a bandaid to get through law school.

Also, my personality has changed and my relationship with my wife has taken a backseat to law school. I'm definitely not the fun person she met in college. I'm unsocial and fairly reclusive (which isn't uncommon for law students). However, I believe these issues have more to do with adderall than the normal stresses of law school.

I've been off adderall for a week now and haven't been able to read or study worth a flip. I have a paper due tomorrow that I haven't even started on. My personality and normal sleep pattern has come back but at the expense of studying. When I sat down to study today my mind was scattered and I almost popped an adderall so I could get some work done.