QuittingAdderall.com Forums

Help! Need Advice, prescribed for Depression

BarbieDahl

Hi, I'm a newbie here, and I desperately need some good advice. I am so relieved to have found this site because finally someone understands this horrible pit I've fallen into. Thank you for reading this.

So, here's my story... I have always been the happy-go-lucky, social butterfly. A hard working sales rep, but always up for fun, traveling, organizing girl's getaways, etc. Then, after I had my first child, at age 30, I started getting depression. My mom had it REAL bad for many years, so I wasn't that surprised. I started an anti-depressant, went on my way, and did fine for a couple years.

Then, I had my second child, and my depression got worse. The prozac stopped helping. So I started seeing a shrink and trying different meds. The anti-depressants I tried would work for a while, six months, a year, but then they'd stop, and I'd have to try something else. Well, in 2005, it started to really get worse. I started getting really anxious on top of feeling sad. And I didn't feel so comfortable being around people anymore, going on sales calls, making conversations. Even talking with friends felt awkward and nervewracking. I wanted to just hole up in my house. So, I took a leave of absence from work,started weekly therapy, and tried once again to pull myself together. But nothing was working. My Dr. started putting me on "med cocktails," which sometimes would work, but never lasted.

I've seen about 5 different shrinks over the past 12 years, have been psychologically tested, tried ECT (electroshock therapy), and even voluntarily went inpatient for a horrible few days to try to break this cycle. But no luck.