QuittingAdderall.com Forums

Relapsed

tinybuddha

I feel so low and just worthless. After a very stressful personal moment I relapsed and I feel like in the last few weeks I have flushed away all the pain and work I put into quitting and starting the process of rebuilding my life. I was a long term and very high tolerance adderall user which also lead to cycle of taking other meds to sleep or counteract the side effects. It took me months to wean down to a low dose of all the pills(I was for awhile taking extremely dangerous amounts to the point I couldn't even pretend to rationalize it anymore) cymbalta, adderall, and a mix of benzo or ambien to sleep. In the beginning I would rationalize the pills were giving me this ability to have what I thought was an amazing life; finish graduate school from a top program(I have not even been able to get myself together enough to pass my boards in the two years since I graduated. Being the 'perfect' partner to what I thought was my dream doctor fiance(in reality has become the most manipulative, self esteem robbing, and controlling relationship) After finally pulling myself out of a deep depression and denial and my with life in shambles in every way imaginable; I realized the pills had now become a way of coping/numbing myself to what my life had become and in many ways largely because of the adderall. I am not at all back to the insane level I was at peak of my addiction, but back in that place of not wanting to take the pill but needing it to function as a way to put off the withdrawal symptoms. I had horrible physical withdrawal. The worst being the extreme muscle aches and twitches/spasms. Also, I am terrified of the depression during the withdrawal reoccurring as when this happens I tend to isolate and self medicate(not with alcohol or street drugs but with prescription medications) I managed to get myself clean enough to admit to myself how bad things had become in my life and make some real changes. I am moving into a