QuittingAdderall.com Forums

All good things come to an end

jmac

Hi everyone. After reading so many stories that mirrored mine, I decided to tell you all about mine and hopefully get some help. I'm not the type to air personal stuff, but things aren't working. I am coming apart at the seams, and at this point think it might be best to open the gates. I'll try to keep it short and sweet. No promises though.

I've been on XR a little under 2 years now. I didn't seek help for my attention deficit until after I graduated college, even though I knew it was a serious problem since junior year. I strongly believe that I am a legitimate ADD candidate, however my prescribed Adderall usage was usually not the most therapeutic. My college career was defined by procrastinating and an inability to do the task at hand, even if I was sitting at my desk for hours. I would read something, and then realize 15 minutes had gone by, I had absorbed nothing, and found myself fixated on something entirely unrelated. Almost like dozing off the wheel in that I would try to be more aware, but it would only be after snapping back into focus that I realized it had happened again. It was only when the final hour before a deadline approached, that under much stress I found myself in the zone as I rushed to complete my work, sometimes a 10 page research paper overnight. It became known to those close to me as "my thing". I was the kid who could cram/overnight/marathon projects and exams that took most people preparation, usually with high marks. I was proud; a sense of gifted accomplishment in knowing I could skip to the front of the line, so to speak, when faced with difficulty.