QuittingAdderall.com Forums

How I quit Adderall

quit-once

Quit Once - Glad to hear your story!!!! I had ONE pill left after I quit. I put that pill all the way in the back of the drawyer with no intentions of taking it. But still, I saved it. I couldn't bring myself to throw it out. But at the same time, I had NO intentions of taking it. It was just something that was there. I kept asking myself, why can't I throw it out? Have I not really let go? I struggled with this guilt for a long while. Finally, one day I found some adderall and the first thing I did was throw it out. I was surprised at my reaction. After that, I felt so empowered that I went to look for the other pill I had been hiding and thinking about for many months to throw that out, too. I couldn't find it though. But just feeling ready to throw out that last pill, felt to me like I'd just crossed another milestone in my recovery. I guess what I'm trying to say is that it's normal, you're thoughts about the pills you stashed away. Even though I only had one pill stashed away, I thought about it SO much!! All I can say is that when you do decide to chuck the rest of it (and you will) you will have taken another big step in your recovery... It's quite an adjustment isn't it? After 10 years of being on adderall..

Emily, I also did the 12 steps and had just a difficult time with it. After going to 100 N/A meetings, and going through the 12 steps book SEVERAL times, I just suddenly relapsed. It's like I just wasn't thinking. After all that time in outpatient therapy and acknowledging I was an addict...I just suddenly thought I could take adderall again. And that it was no problem. The disease took over my thinking process. Just try to stop yourself as soon as you can. And keep reading and sharing on these message boards.

Quit Once: