QuittingAdderall.com Forums

Experience with Wellbutrin?

matilda

HI all --

I'm 5 months off of Adderall, thank goodness, but I'm facing a dilemma I'm wondering if anyone has experience with. I still have a prescription for Wellbutrin, and I know some people have used it when phasing off of Adderall. My worry is that it's too similar to Adderall -- being something of a stimulant, too -- and that it'll set me right back to square one if I go on it. I've been struggling with a bout of depression lately which I think might be largely physical, exhaustion from being overstimulated for so long, and I don't want to let it go on and on if I don't have to, but I'm scared to have to reset the withdrawal clock.

Any experience with this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

M

I have no experience with wellbutrin or any other antidepressant drug but I do have an opinion, for what it's worth. You have invested the last five months kicking the influence of a heavy and addictive pharmaceutical - adderall. So have I. I have become increasingly anti-pharma for anything that is not a dire health situation. At some point, we all will need to take an antibiotic, blood pressure pill or something like that. But not the psyche drugs. There are other ways to combat depression, and until you have exhausted all the nutritional, lifestyle, and psychotherapy options which can combat depression you really don't need to go hide behind another pill just yet. Got a regular excercise program? Are you eating a healthy well balanced diet which minimizes processed foods? Tried fish oil or omega 3 supplements? How about the amino acids tyrosine or phenylalanine? Vitamin D? Got a hobby?

This is the time of the year when seasonal depression can affect almost everybody at some level. I think it is as simple as lack of light - the days are short and it is more cloudy in the winter time. Bright indoor lighting that features blue hues can really boost the mood.

• Like 1