QuittingAdderall.com Forums

Why stop?

ADDrew

Sorry if I'm missing something but I just don't know why I should want to stop. I was prescribed adderall in 4th grade, when I was about 10 years old. I was a smart kid before but I just couldn't manage all my energy and stay out of trouble. Once I started taking adderall, I was better behaved, more efficient, good at managing time, and felt motivated. I'm 19 now and a sophomore in college. I decided to try and stop taking adderall senior year of high school (by this time I was taking 25 mg of adderall XR daily). I began falling asleep in class (which I had never done before), getting unorganized, and feeling unmotivated. All of these things were horrible considering the fact that I was taking 4 AP classes at the time. So before things got too bad, I began taking adderall again and everything straightened out. Once I graduated, I just stopped taking it again and I dealt with all the withdrawal symptoms. I was tired and unmotivated, then I fell deep into depression and developed problems with anxiety. Starting college was tough without adderall. I began to realize that adderall is basically my reality. I had been taking the pill through some of the most important developmental years for the brain and then I just stopped taking it suddenly. As a result, I turned to other things to stimulate my brain in the absence of adderall. I smoked weed and drank increasingly often. I have a pretty level head and realized what a problem those two things could become and quickly stopped before they got out of hand. Since then, I take adderall every once in a while just to feel "normal" for a little while. I feel like I'm very aware of addiction and how easy it is to become addicted to something, and how those things can be extremely bad for someone's health. I'm just struggling to realize what is so wrong with adderall. I can't even remember why I originally stopped. I think it was just an experiment to see if I could, and here I am.