QuittingAdderall.com Forums

why quit? are there any long term side effects?

jonny9

hey guys

i have been using concerta (not exactly adderall but i think same point) for the last 2.5 hours (i'm 31 years old) taking a pill 3-4 days a week. i love the feeling i get when i'm on concerta, i feel like i have super powers on it, can do insane amount of work while on it (i'm a freelancer billing by the hour..), nothing gets me bored, i'm more creative and i feel i can do just about anything i want. even being home, even just watching tv, i feel i am better on it.

only downside i felt so far, is that in a day that i took the concerta (it affects for 12 hours), when the pill effect is gone, i feel like my battery is dead so to say, as if i crunched all the hours of being up into 12 condensed hours, and i need to go to sleep right after. i would have liked it to not be like this, but it's not the worst thing.

i only take it 3-4 days a week because i feel taking it every day has to be wrong, health-wise.. usually its 0-1 pills in the weekend, and the rest in work days (if i have a day of errands i won't take it because it will be a waste for me). the fact that the pill lasts for 12 hours is a good thing in that sense i can't take it mid-day, since i won't go to sleep at a normal time. that means i have a window of say 4 hours from the moment i wake up till i can take it, which means i only need to resist the urge for 4 hours :D

searching the net for long term side effects, i haven't found any, and i was wondering if i'm missing something. i don't mind the short term side effects, like the one i described, or little mood swings, i am only worried about the long term effects. if you told me its 100% safe, and nothing will happen, i think i would take the pill almost every day :)

what do you think?