QuittingAdderall.com Forums

What to do at work?

IJustWannaBeMe

Hello everyone :)

I'm new.  This is my first post and this is also my first day without adderall in my journey to quit it forever.

I have a lot of worries about the coming weeks and months but my main concern right now is how this is going to impact me at my job.

Having gone short periods before I know what it's going to be like (at least at first).  I know I'm going to be next to useless at work.  I'm afraid I'm going to get in trouble at my job, or get called out or questioned, or that coworkers will get annoyed with me or that they will question what the hell is going on with me or that I'll maybe even get fired... help!?

No one I work with knows I take adderall.  I'm a recent college grad, I'm the youngest person at my job, and I've only been at it for 4 months.  I don't feel comfortable at all sharing with my coworkers that I take adderall (even though I technically am diagnosed with ADHD and am prescribed it) and I certainly don't feel comfortable explaining to them that I am quitting it.  I don't feel comfortable telling my boss either.

I don't know what to do.

I am going to just try and sleep all day until work and go to bed right after work, and I suppose drink a ton of coffee but I just don't think that will be enough...

Does anyone have any suggestions or any personal experiences with this they can relate?

I'm nervous and dreading it...

Thanks

-A

Can you describe your job? I can probably give you tips because this was my biggest hang-up during the quitting process. It took me about a year to get used to working without it, but I managed not to get fired. People won't notice your performance dip as much as you think. It's mostly in your head, mentally adjusting to a completely different style of working and getting used to time moving at a slower pace. It feels really awkward and uncomfortable for awhile.

• Like 1

Congrats on your decision to quit and welcome to the forums.