QuittingAdderall.com Forums

Trying to Quit

jaymeyer26

I have been using Adderall for about seven years now. My doctor prescribed it during law school in combination with the medication I was taking for depression. I have tried to quit five times but keep getting back on it, mostly due to my job.  I am an attorney and each time I try and quit I become a slug and my work piles up and I hop back on.  I have read a lot about people making career changes due to this, but that is really not an option for me.  Lots of student loan debt, a wife and a baby on the way.  We need my income to remain large enough to make ends meet.  However, I hate the thought of meeting my baby and being a dad while on this drug.  Not sure what to do.  I have tried "cold turkey" each time previously, so I am considering the weaning approach.  Any thoughts, guidance and/or words of encouragement would be greatly appreciated!

Welcome to the forums Jay,

I wish that I could tell you that recovery is a bowl of cherries and it's a breeze to get through but it would be a lie.  It's hard work and you can do it.  You have accomplished so much already in life which tells me that you have a lot of ambition.  I will tell you from personal experience that you do not want to expose your children to an adderall dad.  You will not have patience for a screaming newborn and you will not have a genuine emotional connection with them until you are off the drugs.  Best of luck on your journey; we are all here for you!

• Like 1