QuittingAdderall.com Forums

1st step of my Thousand Mile Journey

MadHatter

My story is probably very familiar to alot of others on this site but I think it has some unique aspects. I'll start at the beginning....

I was a freshman in college and struggling with some very important (to me) aspects of my life.I have always been a big guy but managed to keep my weight in check through sports, mainly football, which at my high school meant a year round sport with weight training and cardio. At college, I trained super hard in an attempt to try out for my college football team. Of course, I didn't make the team. I had no shame in that because this was a Division I program that also went undefeated that year so there was alot of competitive talent. I figured "oh well, at least I'm still at the school I want to be at" and I have always prided myself on my academics. Except, suddenly I was struggling beyond belief. I had always excelled in high school but my public school education was a joke and required little effort to do well. This resulted in very poor study habits and the next thing I know i'm struggling in all subjects including my "Music Appreciation" class that was suppose to be a GPA booster. In addition, my diet became terrible and I ballooned 30+ lbs. Needless to say, my romantic life at this point was non-existent. So there I am, a 6'3 275lb pile of worthless failure.

Then something happened....after a very painful rejection from a girl that I really cared about, I decided it was time to take back control. Time to stop blaming everyone and everything else for my problems. Nobody made me eat like crap, nobody stopped me from exercising, nobody kept me from studying, and no one took my self confidence. Suddenly, I had this incredible drive to improve myself. (Keep in mind this is before I even heard of Adderall). I was determined that I was going to mold myself into the person I wanted to be with nothing more than the sheer force of an iron will.