QuittingAdderall.com Forums

Preparing to quit - Which days are the worst?

CosmiKitten

Hey everyone, I've been visiting this site now for the past six months or so, and just about every day this month. I'm getting ready to quit... I can say for sure that I can't live this way much longer. I'm losing my personality, social skills, sex drive, health, sanity, the list goes on.

I've read the "How to Quit" page and I think its a good plan of action. So whats holding me back? My fears of course.

My greatest fear right now: My withdrawal affecting my job

Once when I was unable to get an appointment to refill before my prescription ran out, I had to go 2 days without adderall. I figured it wouldn't be a big deal, I had quit adderall once a couple years prior with little trouble; I was fed up with it, the very thought of continuing to take it made me sick. But this time it was HORRIBLE.

I wasn't just tired, I was TIIIIRREEED. One of the things I love about adderall is NEVER EVER BEING TIRED. Sure, you get sleepy, and sometimes its hard to wake up, but I know that when I pop the pill, I'll feel awake, with a little euphora and excitement sprinkled on top. So I am ready to expect the dreadful fatigue and exhaustion, considering that not only is it natural during stimulant withdrawal, but even more painful considering I've practically forgotten what tired feels like.

I work at a bank. During those two days without my prescription, I could barely keep my head up at my desk. I made a lot of mistakes... Bad ones. Like handing out too much money cause I was looking at the wrong numbers, poor data entry that caused accounts to bounce... and just a few days ago I had my review in which these things came up and affected my grading and salary increase poorly. I want to quit adderall and get back to my normal self, but I'm afraid of losing the best job I ever had.