QuittingAdderall.com Forums

19 & lost after quitting Adderall

Depression

My story begins when I was a freshman in high school. I had always been goofy, funny, talkative, and intelligent. I was a straight A student my whole life & an athlete. When I reached high school I began to hate myself. I talked all class & had trouble paying attention. I envied people who sat quietly & did their school work. I was never that person but it just started to hit me that it was a problem. I went to a psychiatrist & was diagnosed with ADHD. Knowing that I had a heart murmur as a child, they put me on strattera. This made me incredibly tired & depressed. Then I tried Ritalin with the same result. 

Fast forward to my sophomore year of high school. I became more & more depressed. My self confidence plummeted. My doctor put me on Zoloft but that just made me agitated so I eventually went off that as well. I self medicated with marijuana for a few months & it seemed to help make me forget about the constant nagging feelings of worthlessness. Until that stopped working & I quit. 

My senior year of high school I hit an all time low. I had been struggling with depression for the past few years but I had coped without taking medication. I was still able to function, stay active in sports & maintain good grades. But I felt like I was a failure, I felt like I was never doing enough. I ended up being prescribed Wellbutrin & Adderall. I swore for months that the Adderall wasn't doing anything. Some days I accomplished so much & others I barely accomplished anything yet I was restless from the feeling of being high. I had a 4.4 GPA & applied to colleges. I got accepted to all of them, even university of Florida which I didn't think I would get in to. Deciding that I didn't want to be hundreds of thousands of dollars in debt, I decided to go a cheaper route.