QuittingAdderall.com Forums

Adderall caused thyroid/adrenal issues?

Kimber

I've been attempting to quit for a couple of months.  Down to 20-30 mg /day.

Does anyone think Adderall causes thyroid and/or adrenal problems?  I have over researched this to the point of confusion and am afraid from what I've read that I can make it worse.  My neck/throat area sometimes feels like it has a pulsing heartbeat and is really sore when I wake up, plus my body is always really hot, but feet and hands sometime cold.  Like temperature gauge is off.

1.  If stop Adderall cold turkey can this possible cause irreparable damage?

2.  Any books or website suggestions for a SIMPLE TO FOLLOW, step by step on how to safely heal, help and/or repair any thyroid and/or adrenal problems.  Like I said I have over bombarded myself with information and feel stuck.

This really is the pits.  Tired of Adderall totally taking up my life...whether obsessing about not using it, then if I take it, obsessing and beat myself up for succumbing, then off to obsessively clean house and do more research!  I've killed 100's of trees with all my printed info on this crap..

Adderall causes adrenal fatigue. It gives you an artificial surplus of norepinephrine (and dopamine) in your brain . Norepinephrine (also called noradrenalin) boosts levels of energy in your body. 

The problem is that your body gets used to the pill producing the norepinephrine and dopamine (feel good chemicals) in your brain so your brain stops producing them naturally on its own.