QuittingAdderall.com Forums

Back to adderall?

Addgirl426

Ok so basically i've been clean of adderall for 2 months but the 10 pound weight gain and the lack of focus/motivation is enough to make me reconsider taking adderall... i'm studying for my trading license and my CFA so i need complete focus. There is a part of me that recalls the horrible fatigue that accompanied withdrawals, which also makes me hesitate but then i'm thinking perhaps i could only take adderall prior to studying as opposed to a daily dosage. I would appreciate your complete candor wrt my thoughts. I guess i'm hoping that you all would offer a new perspective or perhaps suggestions on how to focus and minimize weight gain. Thank you in advance.

I felt the same way at the two month mark. I quit Adderall for two months last year, then started again because I didn't feel the fatigue or motivation improving at all. When I quit again nine months later I had to go through the same thing again. What I realized was that it takes a long time for your brain and body to get back to normal. I didn't feel like I had any energy or focus until the third/fourth month (around now). One day a few weeks ago, I was complaining to my husband that I still felt like crap after three months sober. He said, 'Well, three months isn't a long time to quit something.' I found that statement humbling. I realized that three months really isn't a long time in the grand scheme of a five year daily addiction! I felt so silly that I expected to feel perfect again after just a couple months.