QuittingAdderall.com Forums

Writing off/after Adderall

PostAdderall

Does anyone have a difficult time writing after quitting Adderall? I feel as though I was a pretty good writer both before Adderall and while on Adderall, but recently I have been having a hard time writing eloquently and coherently. I write much more slowly, and feel like I have a difficult time effectively communicating my ideas. Does anyone else struggle with this? Any suggestions? I am considering just trying to write a little bit everyday to give myself some mental exercise -- perhaps it is just that overtime I have fallen out of touch with the reading/writing part of my brain.

It took me almost three months before I could even write my first post on this website. I wondered about this too because I thought that adderall made me a better writer. But when I compare things I wrote on adderall and things I wrote post-adderall, I cannot honestly tell any difference in the quality of the article. I was never very good at writing about myself before I started posting on these boards. But with seventy or so posts under my name on this site, well, I still struggle writing about myself, but the experience has helped me to become a better writer and I can see the progress by looking back at those first few posts when I joined this website late last summer.

Actually, I had the opposite experience. Writing was the one thing I couldn't do while on Adderall. On Adderall, my writing would be over-styled and full of lengthy tangents. Plus I'd get jammed-up overanalyizing everything. Good writing requires ruthless prioritization and fat-trimming, and my sober brain is way better at that than my Adderall brain.

Also, after quitting Adderall I found I was less satisfied with writing something for its own sake. As in, I stopped writing things nobody read and started writing things in public.