QuittingAdderall.com Forums

Numb

ldmcniel

I use to be the most energetic, fun, and outgoing person. I have not ever been addicted to anything in my life, that is until Adderall. It's funny how in today's society, the people who are creative, energetic and actually the most fun are labeled "different". Teachers, parents and doctors all want to put a label on a person just because they can't sit still, pay attention to boring things and have an amazing thought process. The really sad part is, I work in the medical field. I bought in to the whole idea that " I needed to slow down, be calm, and pay better attention." That is how the world works right? I now know that today's world may want us to be that way, but the most creative minds from centuries ago would be labeled today as being "abnormal". So what if we can sit there and be little zombies who really could care less what some boring person is talking about. So what if we jump from one thought to another and it might take us longer to complete a task. Now... I will get off of my soap box and tell you my story. My son is the only boy out of 5 sisters. He's very creative, smart and of course, energetic. So... you can see that everyone was like "he needs to be on medication." I fought this for two years and finally, like a coward, gave in to everyone's idea that we need to make him a zombie. I know what it is like to be hyper, have a imagination like no other, and to feel like your mind can't stop. I have had ADHD since I was a child, but my parents never bought into the "medicating your child" theory. So... why am I on here then? Well, like an idiot, I tried my son's Adderall. At first I was like woo hoo! I can think clearer now! This is great!!! Then, the honeymoon was over. The great feeling... gone, the clear mind...gone. What did I have left? The guilt, shame, inability to laugh, cry or really feel anything but anger. So I keep asking myself "why can't you quit?" You would think it would be a simple answer, b