QuittingAdderall.com Forums

Almost a month clean

Workingthroughit

First and foremost, I need to thank this forum. Reading these stories is so incredibly helpful. I was on xr 20 mgs for about 7 years when I quit cold turkey about a month ago. I'm a lawyer and I used adderall to get through law school and the 70 hour work weeks. I'm 29 years old, and I was seriously concerned about my health taking this drug.

The first week was absolutely brutal. Luckily that first week coincided with a major flu epidemic that hit my office. I got away with a 40 hour work week. I slept a solid 14 hours each night. And this is really embarrassing; I had some serious constipation issues.

After that first week I started to "feel" again. I'm not trying to be vague; I actually finally felt something instead of being a drone. I remembered what I liked and what I didn't like. On adderall, I could literally make anything interesting. I've been known to go through bankers boxes of documents in 15 hour clips. Adderall let me lose myself in my work. Now, I get to choose what I like.

No more constant dry mouth. My workouts have been off the charts. I sleep soundly at night. i never thought my sex drive was low. But its incredibly higher now. My energy levels are getting better and better each week. I'll never have the energy I had. But I'm really learning to love my job for what it is. I still process information quickly, but I make less mistakes.

It's a struggle. But the positives have outweighed the negatives and I know this was the right choice. Thanks to everyone for your stories. They got me through this and will continue to get me through this.

• Like 3

Hi WorkingThroughIt, congrats on almost a month clean! This is a huge accomplishment because quitting cold turkey is NOT easy. Thanks for sharing your story, it's very inspiring.