QuittingAdderall.com Forums

Finding Happiness and Inner Peace

quit-once

I am hesitant to post this, but I want to share my thoughts with everyone. It is human nature to loathe and envy somebody who has something you want but do not have, and it is NOT my intention to boast about being happy. I am posting this both for myself (for future reference on those not so happy days) and also for anybody who would like to improve their happiness. I would also really like to hear some thoughts from those of you who read this and can add their own thoughts on what makes them happy in the comment section.

I have had fleeting episodes of happiness all thorugh my life. As a child, I was depressed most of the time but did have a few occasional good years too. As a college student, I was only moderately happy, and as a young adult, I had a few bouts of depression that I was finally able to get a handle on through some counseling and by the time I was 30 things were pretty good. I had another period of depression a few years ago while my mom was suffering through old age and I was suffering though an adderall addiction. Things have gotten much, much better for me lately.

I am not a monk, although I live a monk-like lifestyle in modern day America. I do believe I have some past-life experiences being.....well....monkey.

I find happiness and inner peace to be intrinsically related. You cannot have happiness without inner peace. I persue a lifestyle that maintains my inner peace at all costs. So the first few things I will discuss are what gives and maintains my inner peace:

Accepting myself for who I am as a person

Accepting forced change and those things from the past that cannot be changed. I accept the outcome of all events that occur beyond my control.

Accepting Death. Whether it is the death of a parent, pet, or peer, or even a houseplant.

Living debt-free

Being honest and trustworthy (yup, I am an Eagle Scout)

Forgiving the wrong-doers in my life