QuittingAdderall.com Forums

New user

cutch22

What's up? I'm skipping details for now but I will add later. The main reasons I joined were to let everyone know that reading their stories is helpful, and adding a form of accountability for myself. If I decide I'm going to take another adderall (I won't), I'm going to post a reply on this thread and tell everyone why.

Anyway, I'm a PhD student in the "crunch time" of my degree. Although I probably chose the worst time, I don't see it like that because there is no "worst time." Adderall has helped me in life, and probably done almost as good as bad - almost. I want to be myself, I want to stop getting mad at cars in front of me, friends who misspell a word when they message me to ask me how my day was, and my co-workers because they weren't able to read my mind.

I slept for 14 hours after a couple of all nighters a while back, and when I felt love for friends/family/my girlfriend that I hadn't felt in a long time, DESPITE being in withdrawal, I knew in the back of my head my use was winding down. I was on adderall off and on from the age of 9 (yeah, 9) until now. I'm 25, and I have been on it consistently for the last 3 years.

I'll answer any questions if there are any. I'm only at 60 hours/2.5 days and I'm feeling more sadness/laziness than anything. Feeling sad is fuckin awesome though, haven't felt that in awhile. Thanks for all your posts, they honestly helped me confirm that this was the right choice, as I read them for about 2 hours yesterday. Good luck to all of you.

• Like 4

Welcome to the site.  That is a long time to be a user - you're definitely making a brave and worthwhile decision to quit.  I've just quit myself within the past few weeks, and it's been a painful but worthwhile experience already.