QuittingAdderall.com Forums

First time poster - My journey to recovery.

jmsau3

Hey all, 

This is my first entry on this site and I'm not sure what to expect, but I felt the time was right for me to share my story and experiences. I stopped taking all drugs on November 14th, 2022 when I self-admitted to a detox/rehab facility for two weeks. Since then, I'm attempting to persist with a path of abstinence from amphetamines but i'm having great difficulty in staying clean.

This is my first time in recovery after a period of daily substance use spanning around two years. I first started taking dextroamphetamine regularly when I moved into my first share house and was in the last year of my psychology master's degree. Previously I had occasionally taken it recreationally and was amazed at how significantly it eased my social anxiety and boosted my mood. I then experimented with taking amphetamines during the weekdays and was amazed at how much better it made me feel about myself when I was on my own. It felt like for the first time in my life, there was an absence of loud noise in my head and I could focus on and enjoy whatever I was doing. 

From this point, I gradually increased my intake of the substance, becoming a daily user within a couple of months. Although I have never been diagnosed with ADHD or any other medical condition warranting the use of amphetamines, I continued to acquire and use the tablets because they made me feel whole and happy. I never really questioned where this pathway of ever-increasing consumption would take me. I just wanted to continue feeling comfortable inside my own skin.