QuittingAdderall.com Forums

Addicted Artist Looking For Help

Corey

Hi QA,

Years ago, visiting this site/community helped me quit my adderall addiction, but I've recently (as of October) gotten hooked on the stuff once again.

I'm a professional full-time illustrator and part-time illustration teacher. In October I had a huge project with a ton of work and a tight deadline that seemed impossible. I turned to adderall to stay up for days on end, putting a butt-ton of work into this project. The end result was so good, and I was able to get so much done, and the adderall high was so great that I kept using adderall to push myself as hard as I could in my work, telling myself that once I finished the round of projects I was working on, that I would quit. After 3 months of making excuses to keep taking it, despite progressively feeling more like crap when I don't take it, I'm looking around and realizing that I am clearly and unmistakably addicted. When I try to work without using adderall, I feel miserable and distracted and fixate on when I can next get my hands on more adderall. I think one of the most upsetting parts of this development is that I genuinely think my work has improved drastically since I've started taking it. I've never been more ambitious in what I try to achieve and my attention to detail. The idea of going back to a life of slogging through work without adderall and the fear that my work will get drastically worse if I quit is something I find very depressing. However, my personal life and emotional well-being has taken a nose-dive in the last three months. I don't wake up until noon most days, my apartment is a total mess, I weasel out of any social engagements I can so I can either work or spend the day "recovering" by being zonked out watching TV or playing video games. My addiction is a total secret from friends and family whom I routinely blow off. The only person who knows is my therapist (whom I don't get my drugs from) who hasn't been mu