QuittingAdderall.com Forums

Trying to find the strength to quit

Sprad

I have been abusing adderall for about 2 years. Year one was amazing. I was able focus and meet all the demands of both working full time and being a solo parent. Year two I started needing more than I was prescribed. I started snorting them and running out of my prescription by week 3. Then falling into horrible depression without them until I could get my next fill. I have started to uncontrollably rub my tongue on the back of my 2 front teeth. My amazing focus has turned into useless zombie focus on nothing of importance. I just want to isolate myself from my family. I don’t make the effort to connect. This list could go on an on. 

I’m scared of the withdraw. The depression. The inability to get anything done. I have so many things coming up that need to get done. 

Any advice, suggestions or tips that helped you function when quitting?

• Like 2

Hi Sprad -

This sounds right, after a year, things go down hill. I was chained to adderall for around 6 years, upping my dose until my highest daily intake  was between 90 to 200 mg a day. I found outside sources (black market) for when my script ran out. I ran up terrible cc debt, spent ungodly amounts of money on nothing, and spiraled. I kept it together enough to keep my job, but towards the end of my use, I was very close to loosing that too. I will be 2 years clean August 1st. it was HARD, but I was ready. The longer you stay on adderall, the longer your Post acute withdrawal will be. I experienced PAWS even at 18 months clean. I still have "foggy" days, but things are so much better. My world did not collapse because I quit adderall. I kept my job, I did not become obese, and I did not have permanent damage. or at least nothing I haven't been able to cope with. I still crave the drug occasionally, but that is part of recovery. learning your triggers and working through cravings. learning new ways of coping with life's stresses.