QuittingAdderall.com Forums

I quit and this Website did help - Here is my story

Hello542

Childhood and Early Diagnosis: As a kid, I was diagnosed with ADD. It wasn't through any scientific methods like brain scans, but through quizzes sent to my teachers and parents. Interesting protocol but it was the 90’s so I place no blame on the diagnosis or my parents decision.  It is still diagnosed the same way today and likely because now one wants to pay for a brain scan to see if the prefrontal cortex is working in the right way. If I was a teacher, I would likely want my kids to be on Adderall too so why they give them quiz seems ridiculous. What a great way for them to get focused and be less trouble.   This diagnosis made me feel different as a kid, special but not in a good way. It really affected my confidence and happiness. The medication I was given changed who I was. Probably made me resilient but also hurt my confidence.  I became less imaginative and felt more zoned out or maybe to zoned in is the right word. I wonder about this one thing from my childhood: I had once won a creative writing award, and I never won anything like it again. This makes me think about whether that was before or after the diagnosis because I feel like those meds stifled my creativity and based on my most recent research they definitely did. There is no doubt Adderall has a deep effect on the brain and it is proven that kids on Ritalin and Adderall morph the brain to become more focused for the rest of life. It literally alters your brain for life. Maybe that was good for me. I am doing well now. Funny thing is looking at my old report cards my grades didn’t even improve. Not one psychologist suggested natural remedies and it seems that is still the way it is today. No over the counter supplement, no diet suggestions or food intolerance tests or tricks to stay focused (which I imagine is hard to teach a kid). My guess is the pharmaceutical sales rep wouldn’t like that and likely the