QuittingAdderall.com Forums

Extreme social anxiety

Confused84

Funny you mention this. I had social anxiety before Adderall and I found Adderall helped me with it....but sometimes it did the opposite effect. I have found that social anxiety is the thing I struggle the most with not having Adderall. What's going on with you? Do tell!

Hey LILTEX,

I've heard of it going both ways. I've been on Adderall now for over half my life--about 15 years (every day at between 30 - 40 milligrams a day). I was prescribed it for inattentive ADHD. I've never had a problem with abusing it. Before Adderall I had been taking Ritilin for 2 years--but it hardly did anything for me.

I was first prescribed it in the summer of the year I graduated middle school (this was in 1998 and I had just turned 14).

Most of the friends I'd had in middle school ended up going to a different high school in the fall, so at about the same time I was first prescribed Adderall I was also going through that whole transition as well.

Anyway, once I started high school and was taking Adderall I pretty much just locked myself in my room and completely focused on schoolwork (I'd always been a terrible student before Adderall). Needless to say my grades improved tremendously. The problem was that I began to completely shut everyone out and wasn't socializing, wasn't making friends, and wasn't dating. My personality totally changed and I became quiet, cerebral, and (frankly) kind of boring. I began to relish in the time I spent alone. For a long time I didn't really have a problem with being around other people, I just preferred being alone.

Then gradually it came to be like I couldn't STAND being around other people.

After years of this sort of degenerative behavior it got to be like I'm "addicted" to being alone--tough to explain but anyone with this type of issue probably knows what I'm referring to.