QuittingAdderall.com Forums

The story of me

PD5

Hey everybody,

Very thankful for this site!

I’m 27 and I’ve been abusing adderall for the last 4 years. I’m prescribed 30mg and was taking an average of 70-120 mg a day about 5 days a week for 3 out of those 4. Although I was pretty productive during that time, I started to notice that I was having a harder and harder time making decisions. I now feel like I can’t trust my mind anymore because all thoughts are equal and equally vague. I used to be a highly opinionated person with a strong sense of personal morality and very specific tastes, but now I find I have no conviction or real opinions about anything.

I quit for a month at the end of last year, then resumed my usage at about 70mg/day for another couple months. I quit for 3 weeks in March, then went back on for 4 days at around 20mg/day. I quit for good after that and it’s been about 3 weeks.

Since then, my overall state has been the worst it’s ever been in my life. All I do is walk around my apartment from room to room, fidgeting with some pillows on my couch, and then getting into bed and reading these forums. My mind is looping with thoughts of regret, playing over the last 4 years and ruminating on what I’ve lost because of Adderall. This is literally on my mind constantly, from the moment I wake up until the moment I go to bed.

I have extreme anhedonia and constant anxiety and a feeling of hopelessness. I’m also having lots of trouble sleeping; I’ll typically fall asleep around 2am and wake up at 7, and once I wake up the rumination begins and I can’t fall back to sleep. I used to have a great sense of humor and would laugh and joke around constantly, but I feel like I haven’t had a real laugh or an authentic smile in months. My appetite is also almost completely non-existent. It really feels like I have no soul.